Recipes from The Rabbit Hospital (Lemon Raspberry Muffins and 5 Bag Chamomile Tea)

Photo on 2013-06-11 at 08.38 #3

Recently, I was quarantined at The Rabbit Hospital.  The Rabbit Hospital is the bed where my husband and I sleep, but only when it is full of all our daughter’s plush toy bunnies.  Particularly when she is, or they are, feeling weak and in need of extra love.  A state my husband calls broobly.  Brooble rhyming with ruble.  The Rabbit Hospital came to be one evening when our one year old, who has slept in her own bed in her own room since her second week of life, was feeling extra broobly and wanted extra cuddles but only in our bed and only if all her toy rabbits could join.  Well as of Friday afternoon, I’ve been The Rabbit Hospital’s resident invalid.  The reason for admission?  A virulent stomach bug.

I blame the baby germs from the cesspool of toys at my daughter’s playgroup and England’s damp foul summer weather.  For the past few days when I have not been sick, I have been asleep or generally pathetic.  The only thing that hasn’t got my morale completely down is thinking how much svelter I’ll be post-illness.  It’s true.  I’ve not been able to eat a thing.  Until today. . .

I made lemon raspberry muffins based heavily on Joanne Chang‘s raspberry rhubarb muffin recipe from her cookbook, Flour, which bears the same name as her famous Boston bakeries.  If you’re not familiar with her and you love baked goods, buy her book and remedy that situation right away.  She is an Honors graduate of Harvard with a degree in Applied Mathematics and Economics who left the world of business for that of baking.  I mean really, with what and with whom would you rather spend your days?  Puffed up bankers or perfectly puffy profiteroles?  I would choose the latter, but then again I am a Chubby Princess.

And in the tradition of all sick bunnies, I had a soothing pot of five bag chamomile which seems to have set me on the road to recovery.  After all, if this daisy-like herb was what Peter Rabbit’s Mother used to dose him upon returning home from his famously frightful adventure in Mr. McGregor’s garden, then it’s good enough for me.

Ingredients for Lemon Raspberry Muffins:

3 1/4 cups flour

1 tablespoon cornmeal

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

4 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 large eggs

1 large egg yolk

1 1/3 cups sugar

1 1/4 sticks butter, melted

1 cup whole milk at room temperature

1 cup of Greek yogurt

2 teaspoons of vanilla bean paste

2 tablespoons lemon zest

the juice of one small lemon

2 cups fresh raspberries

Method for Lemon Raspberry Muffins:  

Position a rack in the center of your oven then preheat to 350°F/176.7°C/Gas 4.

Line a standard 12-cup muffin tin with paper liners.

In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, cornmeal, and salt.

Then in a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs and egg yolk until thoroughly mixed.  Slowly whisk in the sugar, butter, milk, yogurt, vanilla, lemon juice, and zest until well combined.

Now pour the wet mixture into the dry and use a spatula to gently fold the ingredients until they are just combined.

Lastly, fold in your raspberries.

Spoon the batter into the cups.  Be sure to fill them to the rim.

Bake for about 40 minutes or until the muffins are golden brown and the tops spring back when pressed in the middle with a fingertip.

Cool on a wire rack for 20 minutes then remove the muffins from the pan.

*This recipe yields 18 muffins for me.

To Make 5 Bag Chamomile:

Warm a tea pot then add five bags of chamomile and fill with boiling water.  Let steep for a couple of minutes then stir in 2 teaspoons of honey to taste and a splash of milk.  I promise it will not only help you sleep but it will make you feel like the bunny in Goodnight Moon.

16 thoughts on “Recipes from The Rabbit Hospital (Lemon Raspberry Muffins and 5 Bag Chamomile Tea)

    • Thanks, Roger. They certainly are. My biggest problem is pacing myself. After having not eaten for the past 4 days, I need to keep my greed in check and not gorge myself just because they taste so nice.

  1. That picture of the bunnies just made me go, “awww!” out loud at my desk at work.
    Also, now I really want a muffin. Just thought I’d share.
    Glad to hear that you’re on the mend, Princess! 🙂

    • After a weekend of being very lovingly nursed by Henry, Helena, and the bunnies, I felt a little stronger this morning. That said, I won’t walking up any hills in the rain any time soon. xo

  2. Sorry you’ve been ill but you couldn’t have chosen a better hospital. I hear Bunny Hospital has yet to lose a patient and the staff has the best of bedside manners. You also chose a great way to rejoin the eating community by making these muffins with this tea. Both sound wonderful.
    Hope you’re feeling well again very soon.

    • Thanks, John. Yes, they were very good to me at The Rabbit Hospital. If I ever again need medical attention, I will definitely seek it here. Even if I don’t, I might just drop by for tea. Their snacks are that good.

  3. Glad if you’re feeling better 🙂 your muffins look yum. lovely! and the Rabbit Hospital looks so very comfy–makes me want to be just a little bit sick–haha.

Leave a Reply

