Non-Vegetarian Vegetable Curry (sorry, I love chicken stock)

Kleine and mommy cooking curry

On a hot day, I love a hot curry.  Especially with a cold Tiger Beer in an iced glass.  And as the parenthetical in my title states, I also love chicken stock.  It gives soups, rice dishes, and curries such a savory flavor–something plain old water cannot.  Of course, you could make this recipe and use water instead.  Just don’t expect it to be as good.  And when you tell me it’s not, I’ll have to tell you I told you so.

Ingredients:

2 teaspoon cumin seeds

2 heaping tablespoons garam masala

1 tablespoon tumeric

1 tablespoon salt

1 chopped red bell pepper

2 teaspoons tomato paste

4 smashed and roughly chopped garlic cloves

2 tablespoons freshly grated ginger

1 Thai pepper finely chopped (don’t include the seeds if you prefer a milder curry)

1 potato peeled and chopped into 1/2 inch dice (roughly 200g)

1 small cauliflower with all its greens cut into florets

1 to 1 1/2 cups chicken stock

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 tablespoon butter

Method:

In a heavy bottomed pot, heat your olive oil and butter.  Add the cumin seeds and allow them to fizz in the bubbling butter.  Lower the heat and add the ginger, chilies, and garlic.  Next add the garam masala, tumeric, and salt.  If your mixture looks a little dry, add a touch more butter and oil.  Add the cauliflower, bell pepper, and potatoes and stir until evenly coated with spices.  Now add the tomato paste and the chicken stock.  Stir to incorporate all ingredients.  Put the lid on and simmer for about 10 minutes.  Finally add the greens and cook another 5 to 10 minutes.  Consider the curry done when your potatoes are.

Serve over Basmati rice with Greek yogurt, chopped cilantro (coriander), and your favorite chutney.

10 thoughts on “Non-Vegetarian Vegetable Curry (sorry, I love chicken stock)

  1. Chicken wine! You have the chicken wine label hanging in your kitchen. (MTM and I call Le Vielle Ferme ‘chicken wine’.)

    I wish I liked curry. MTM loves it. Perhaps I will try your recipe and surprise him sometime.

    • Yes, ma’am! We’ve got the chicken wine poster hangin’ in our kitchen. We’ve also got vintage prints of fluffy prize winning chickens up too. Which I suppose is funny when you consider how much I don’t like birds. Or maybe I do. But only in print or as seen in person from very far away.

  2. yum! though how you can get all of those ingredients into the pot holding your daughter, I don’t know. I’m sure I never cooked so well when my girls were babes. Am impressed 🙂 yes to the curry with an iced glass of tiger beer!

Leave a Reply

