Vegetarian Eggplant Curry

eggplant curry

More hot food for hot weather, I know!  Still, I can’t get off the stuff.  The flavors taste too appropriate–tropical, spicy, and hot.  Or maybe I just like an excuse to drink ice cold Tiger beer.  Or perhaps it’s all the old Panjabi MC and Devendra Banhart I rediscovered on my iPod.  Or maybe these aren’t excuses at all but reasons why I should keep making and eating curries until it’s cold.  Ah well.  If you’re interested, here’s the recipe.  If not, maybe I’ll soon share with you how I make my iced tea.  Which is delicious and would probably go well with a curry. . .

Ingredients:

1 teaspoon cumin seeds

1 teaspoon coriander seeds

1 teaspoon tumeric

1 cinnamon stick

2 teaspoons garam masala

2 medium eggplants (aubergines), sliced into rounds

2 medium potatoes, chopped and parboiled

2 tomatoes, each cut into 8 wedges

1 onion, sliced into rounds

4 garlic cloves roughly chopped

2 tablespoons of fresh ginger finely chopped

1 small chili pepper of your choice depending on how much heat you prefer

olive oil and tablespoon of butter

salt

Method:

In a heavy bottomed pot, heat your olive oil and butter over medium heat.  Add the cumin and coriander seeds until they sizzle, less than a minute.  Add the tumeric, cinnamon stick, and garam masala.  Sauté the onions, ginger, garlic and chili in the spices.  Now stir the parboiled potatoes into the spices until evenly coated and let cook for about 10 minutes.  Then add the eggplant and tomatoes.  Lower the heat and allow to cook down for about 40 minutes.  Stir often to avoid vegetables sticking to the bottom of your pot.  Also, if the seasonings and spices look a little dry, add a drop of oil and stir.  Finally, season to taste with at least a hefty teaspoon of salt and serve.  I like to add fresh chopped cilantro, Greek yogurt and chutney, but that’s because I love condiments.

6 thoughts on “Vegetarian Eggplant Curry

  1. Well, shoot. I just had lunch, and now I’m hungry again! This looks fabulous. I have an eggplant in my refrigerator right now, too. Hmm …

    PS: yes please to the iced tea recipe!!!

Leave a Reply

