Strawberry Nectarine Cream Popsicles with Raspberries

strawberry nectarine cream popsicles

When it’s really hot, I seem to dissolve into my younger self.  Not just in the activities I pursue like playing splashy dinosaur wars in huge puddles with my one year old, but even in the way I dress.  My husband told me, “You look like you’re going to Disney World with your parents in 1986.”  Perhaps my jean shorts cutoffs, pink scoop neck tee, high ballerina bun, no makeup and sneaks don’t exactly scream adult.  Especially when I’m drenched with water and holding a rubber Tyrannosaurus.

summer me

Well, nothing made me happier during the summers of my youth than a quality homemade popsicle.  And I’d say that’s still true now.  Below is today’s recipe.  Tomorrow there’ll be another.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup fresh washed and hulled strawberries

1/2 a banana (for sweetness more than actual banana flavor)

the flesh of one peeled nectarine

1/4 cup honey

2/3 cup Greek yogurt

1/4 cup milk

1/4 cup heavy cream

a carton of fresh raspberries

Method:

In a blender combine all of the ingredients except for the raspberries.  Those you will divide amongst your popsicle molds.  Pour the mixture into the molds over the raspberries and freeze until solid, approximately 4 hours.  To remove pops from the mold, run them under warm water.  Now enjoy!  And don’t forget your sidewalk chalk and jacks when you meet up for hopscotch with the kids outside.

more strawberry nectarine cream popsicles

8 thoughts on “Strawberry Nectarine Cream Popsicles with Raspberries

  1. I always ate the really bad popsicles. Maybe that’s why I don’t appreciate them today. My mom bought the molds from Tupperware, but she basically used kool-aid, never a lovely recipe like this one.

    • You know what, Andra? I love the really bad popsicles too! The ones from the ice cream truck that would show up to the field just after soccer practice. The red, white, and blue of Rocket Pops was always too fun to resist.

  2. popsicles! Yay! Yours look fantastically delish and refreshing. Not the popsicles of my youth for sure. Cute pic and loving your wardrobe choices 🙂 1986 was a good year for fashion 😉

    • The 80s were awesome which is why they’ll never go out of style. Been watching a lot of Cheers reruns lately. Kirstie hair was enormous! It was also one of the best things about the show.

    • Yes, definitely! I would have used more but we only had one left. ‘Tis finally stone fruit season in the U.K. Still, I’m convinced most of it must come from France or Spain, not Kent.

Leave a Reply

