Raw Chocolate Truffles

We all know chocolate is the food of the gods.  The Mesoamerican ancients taught us this.  And thank Quetzalcoatl they did because it’s delicious.  Especially raw.  That’s why I’ve been working on a raw truffle recipe so I can enjoy that rich, dark, bitter goodness in its unadulterated form.  That and my toddler adores chocolate.  While I’m not anti-candy in anyway (believe me–there are days I wake up and just want a handful of Sour Patch Kids for breakfast), I do like the idea of her eating raw homemade cacao treats with more frequency than anything manufactured by Cadbury.  Below is my recipe.  Please let me know what you think.

 

Image

 

 

Ingredients:

200 grams of pitted medjool dates

1/2 cup raw cacao powder (plus a little extra for dusting)

1/4 cup raw cacao nibs

1/4 cup toasted slivered almonds (save a few to top the truffles)

2 teaspoons maca powder

2 tablespoons shredded coconut (raw is fantastic but dessicated also works)

1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste

4 tablespoons light agave syrup

1 tablespoon coconut oil

1/4 teaspoon Maldon sea salt (put a little extra aside for topping the truffles)
Image
Method:  In a food processor, mix all ingredients until they form a thick paste.  Now roll spoonfuls of the paste into balls.  Lightly dust these truffles in a little cacao powder.  Be sure to knock off the excess.  Then gently roll just the tops in a little sea salt and dip them into the toasted almond slivers.  Set the finished truffles on baking paper and chill them in the fridge.  Serve cold or at room temperature.  I prefer the latter.
ImageImage
12 thoughts on “Raw Chocolate Truffles

    • Normal dates will definitely do. I’m just fond of medjool. I should probably add that this recipe is really rich. If you don’t like such rich chocolate, you could probably use a little less cacao powder. As it’s all raw, taste it along the way and see what you think it needs. This is just how I like it.

  1. Here’s what I think, Princess: OMG. These have me swooning just in reading and looking at your pictures. Will make them for sure as they seem a cut above the mass-market (even the high-end stuff) truffles. Though I don’t know maca powder, so am off to google. Thanks for another fun post 🙂

    • Thanks, Roger, and if you do try them please let me know. With all the goodies you’ve got in France at this time of year, I bet you could create some amazing combinations. How are the cherries getting on? Have they arrived yet or have they already come and gone?

    • Thanks for the kind words about the pictures. As for the ingredients, you’d be surprised what you can find at your local supermarket. And if you can’t, there’s always online shopping.

Leave a Reply

