Beet Greens Salad

Some people love beetroot.  I am not one of them.  Though I have always loved a good borscht, I have never loved beets.  In fact there was a time when I wouldn’t even eat them.  Not until I was 25 and my kid sister’s nanny always made them for her–roasted and served with balsamic vinegar, was I able to eat them without grimacing or furtively giving them to the dog under the table.  But what I have always loved are beet greens.  Sweet and delicious and packed full of antioxidants, fiber, vitamins, and protein.  They’re also really pretty with bright purple veins running throughout.  It’s a shame but most supermarkets sell beetroot without the greens attached.  To get them go to a farmer’s market or just grow them yourself.  You won’t regret it.

2014-05-25 14.34.53

Ingredients:

1 bunch of beet greens, washed and chopped

a bunch of dill, chopped

1/4 cup toasted chopped almonds

the juice of 1 lemon

a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil

salt & pepper

 

Method:  Put all the ingredients into a large dish, toss ,and serve.

2014-05-25 14.34.58

 

 

8 thoughts on “Beet Greens Salad

  1. Almonds and beet greens? I LOVE this! Simple and delish. I am not a big fan of beets, but like them when they’re teeny tiny and roasted, then crumbled with blue cheese. Funny how folks love or hate the beet.

  2. I am so with you on the beets. I WANT to like them. I really do. So pretty! So trendy! But, generally, no thank you. That salad, though, looks delicious.

    • So pretty and yet still not tasty enough. Not for me anyway. Kind of makes me feel like a child though whose parents call her a picky eater because I don’t like them. Maybe one day . . .

Leave a Reply

