Marshmallowy Macaroons

I am so over French macarons.  They’re everywhere and they have become what I refer to as fake fancy.  Marks and Spencer’s sells them.  Tesco’s sells them.  As does the bakery in the little village where my in-laws live. I still love Ladurée, but let’s face it. Macarons have become the paninis of the pastry world–everyone makes them; yet few know how to make them well.  Besides, they’re a little too refined for me these days.  I want something less fussy, something rougher.  That’s why I’m bringing back the coconut macaroon.

My coconut macaroons are really marshmallowy because that’s how I like them.  I tend to make plain ones that I then drizzle with melted dark chocolate or I like to add the zest of 1-2 limes, depending on how much citrus sunshine I want to taste.

Below is my recipe.  I hope you enjoy it.

 

Ingredients:

3/4 c coconut chips

3/4 c desiccated coconut

2 large egg whites

1/4 c caster sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp salt

the zest of 1-2 limes (optional)

melted dark chocolate (optional)

 

Method:

Preheat your oven to 350°F/180°C/Gas 4.

Toast your coconut in a large skill over low-medium heat.

057

In a large bowl, use an electric mixer to whisk the egg whites until soft peaks form.

Gradually add the sugar and continue whisking until stiff peaks form.

Add the vanilla and salt then whisk some more until the mixture goes all shiny and marshmallowy.

Finally, fold the toasted coconut into the marshmallowy mixture.  If you want lime in your macaroons, now is the time to add the zest.

059

plain marshmallowy macaroon mix

 

with lime zest

with lime zest

Spoon the mixture into 12 small rounds on a lightly greased baking tray (I use coconut oil).

Bake for 10-15 minutes.  Once cool, drizzle with melted dark chocolate if you like.

068 071

4 thoughts on “Marshmallowy Macaroons

  1. Those are wonderful ….I shall be doing that this week! I’m with you on the macaron thing. Funnily enough someone gave us a little box from Paul in Paris..( they’re everywhere, as I’m sure you know) and they were particularly good…which was a surprise.

    • Paul is good! As far as chains go, it’s really nice. There’s one at the National Maritime Museum where my daughter loves to play. It’s nice to know there’s someone else with me on the macaron front. Their ubiquity has made them cease to be a luxury item–in my book anyway. And all the bright colors. It’s a little twee.

  2. so making these. They’re gorgeous! Love the lime addition–fancy-pants touch, but they’re still simple and humble because their meringues. Brilliant.

Leave a Reply

