You Can Win Friends with Salad

Last week, the dreariness of January really got to me.  I was desperate for a taste of sunshine.  That’s why I made Lucas Hollweg’s Chicken and bulgar wheat Waldorf salad with dill and poppy seed yogurt that featured in the September issue of Waitrose Kitchen.  I made a few substitutions: quinoa for bulgar wheat, pecans for walnuts, and orange and lemon instead of just the latter.  This salad was exactly what  I wanted and needed.  Light, refreshing, and full of the promise of spring and sunny summer days.  More importantly, I proved Homer Simpson wrong.  You can too win friends with salad.  My family loved it, especially tiny and these days she doesn’t eat anything but chips.  I’ll be making this one again soon.

018 019 023

11 thoughts on “You Can Win Friends with Salad

  1. lol. I love that Simpsons clip!

    Salads are great for summer. On my birthday last year I proposed that my friends all bring a salad for a picnic. It was fun and we didn’t get so stuffed we couldn’t swim (as normally happens with picnic/potlucks).

Leave a Reply

