British Reserve

How does an American make friends in England?

No, seriously.  I’m asking.  Because I’m still figuring it out.  When you’re Kardashian loud and an oversharer who doesn’t really drink, making friends in the U.K. can be tough.

Which is why I have written a piece about it for The Pool.  One of the biggest challenges for me has been British reserve–i.e. people keeping to themselves and not saying what they mean (unless drunk).  That said, I’ve persisted and made some really lovely friends.  You can read about it here.

4 thoughts on “British Reserve

  1. When I read Fox’s book, I found it totally fascinating. On one hand it confirmed some of the stereotypes about the English, and this in an entertaining and typically English manner, with large doses of dry self-deprecatory humour, and on the other hand much of it seemed so familiar. We Northern Germans (and I really mean northern*most* here) apparently share many typical English traits to some degree. Throughout the book I was evaluating, reflecting, comparing myself to what she wrote, and I found many differences, but also many similarities. That made this book an interesting learning experience not only about the English, but also about myself.

    Have you heard that Northern(most) Germans tend to be difficult to get close with and slow to make friends? While that is certainly not the case for each and everyone, it is one of the shared traits. But when you finally become friends with them, you will be accepted as (nearly) one of the tribe, so to say.

Leave a Reply

